Flooring contractor

Posted , 14 users are following.

Hi All, new here and just found out I need THR due to hip dysplasia. I'm a 48 year old flooring contractor and my doctor say's this will be a career ender. I have 2 children ages 6 and 10 and I'm terrified I won't be able to support my family. I've been doing flooring for 30 years and don't know any other form of income. I feel as though I'm doomed to live with this stabbing pain in my hip. The mobility of my hip is crucial after surgury and need it to be as good as before. Does anyone have experience with being able to bend their pelvic / femur further than 90 degrees after the operation.

Many thanks

2 likes, 41 replies

41 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi Randy,

You've come to the right place.  Here, you will hear the good the bad and the ugly (you already have).  You couldn't ask for a better group of buds.

I've read all the replies and only have three things to add.  One, an anterior procedure has no restrictions, certainly no 90 restrictions.  Two, why not simply be the "face" of your company (aka sales), just a thought, you still get to be in your line of work and finally, as others have pointed out, there are many other things you can do along these same lines.  My suggestion is perhaps looking into teaching your trade to others.  I know here in the U.S. many of our community colleges are returning to teaching the trades.  The only people who can and do teach trades are tradespeople.  This would be the one case where a teacher does not need a college degree to teach.

I know this is a very tough decision and I for one do not envy you.  

I suspect you already know you cannot go on like this until retirement age.  You currently have youth, energy and stamina on your side.

Best of luck Randy

• Posted

You all have been so helpful and informative. What a great bunch. Thank you.