Flu symptoms

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hello all

I joined this group a few weeks ago but this is my first time posting a question in here.

Iv been diagnosed with copd I’m 51, it’s been explaine there’s 3 levels and I’m level 2. Yesterday I started sneezing non stop Iv had a headache for a few days. 

I have a cpap machine I’m trialing at the min  thought that’s what had given me a headache?.

My question is I’m prescribed antibiotics & steroids to have in ready incase I get an infection how do I know when the time is needed to take them I have flu symptoms but my chest atm seems fine any advise please. 

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Referring to your question Lesley;

quote:  My question is I’m prescribed antibiotics & steroids to have in ready incase I get an infection how do I know when the time is needed to take them I have flu symptoms but my chest atm seems fine any advise please.  unquote

Getting a cold or the flu may not result in a chest infection.  Its unwise to take the meds when you do not have an infection.

You should have been given and information page at the time your were issued with the emergency pack.  If you were go check what it says.  If you were not make a telephone appointment with your doctor and discuss this and your current symptoms.

In addition you may want to ask for referral for a pulmonary rehabilitation course, a lung exercise and education programme which will result in better awareness of how to manage your illness and the symptoms to your best advantage.

You may also want to read this page:

https://patient.info/health/chronic-obstructive-pulmonary-disease-leaflet/acute-exacerbations-of-copd-copd-flare-ups