Gastritis- please help?

Posted , 12 users are following.

Hello,

Has anyone else experienced gastritis? About a month ago I began to experience on and off upper stomach/rib pain, that I was, at the time, able to ignore. I also noticed I was burping a lot and feeling nauseous. This started to develop daily, so I spoke to a doctor, who prescribed 20mg of Omeprazole daily. 2 weeks in I felt no better, so again phoned the doctors and they said to continue on 20mg and use Gaviscon, if needed. I still feel no better- I would say the only thing is the rib pain isn't so severe. I am a teacher and I am finding it hard to be in work at the moment as I just cannot eat and feel constantly bleugh. Can anyone give me some good news? Will the Omeprazole start to kick in? Does this usually take a while to settle? I'm worried to phone the doctors again as it was only 6 days ago when they told me to continue the Omeprazole and add Gaviscon.

Thank you in advance 😃

0 likes, 30 replies

30 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi, 37 female, Looking at everyones symptoms and comments i think i have the same! Its very frustrating. I have had this strange feeling,dull ache started on my left side, then went to middle then right side under my ribs. Makes me burp lots, but only really during the day as i seem to sleep fine, occasionally i get unsettled at night not often. Slight weight loss, thinning hair, tired (not always but defo more than i used to be.

I have had lots of tests, xray, heart monitor, blood tests, stool tests, H Pylori (tested positive took antibiotics and it cleared - still pain) abdominal scan, camera down my throat, re did h pylori test negative. omneoprazole, reduflat innovance, innovance glutavance, innovance probiovance, probiotics.... nothing worked....