Having a up and down day

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi guys, every get one of them days when you just feel like screaming, well today is my day, it started off a good day, had a good nights sleep, went to the docs got some answers to questions i wanted.

Tjen i came home to a empty house yet again, i feel as though im going through this all alone. I asked my doc abput my levels being high at 18.53 he said they are high but he has seen higher. Thats not much help for a newbie. Then he said he was send me for a scan, now thats got my brain ticking, why do i need a scan. All tjese things going round in my head. I feel so low at the moment. I just want a good day, i havent had a good day in 6 months

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hello Twinsmum:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse (RN) in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987

I am not sure if you are refering to your TSH level at 18.53 or your T4 Thyroxine level. If it is your TSH level, yes it is high and above 0.45 to 4.50.  Above 4.50 you are Hypothyroid or Under active.  The low end means Hyper or over active.

A scan maybe you mean,  the Ultrasound of the thyroid which I recommed you do.  I have done it and it pickd up 3 nodules under 1 inch on me.

Doctors like to check the thyroid by doing this.  They can check for nodules or cysts this way and also see the size of the gland to see if it is enlarged.  Some people have nodules and do not know it.  It is a helpful diagnostic tool.

Feeling depressed is natural and a lot of things coming at you. Please know many of us have been in your shoes an we can understand how you feel.  Stay strong, Thyroid disease is very treatable.

Any questions just ask,

Shelly

• Posted

hi shellyThe test result he gave me are as follows

Free t4 level. 7 pmo1/L. (9.0. - 22.0 )

TSH. Level. 18.53mu/L. (0.3.35- 5.00 )

it was my first blood test, i was sent for blood test due to having pitting oedema.

he said its underactive thyriod,