Health Anxiety can anyone relate.

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi there, i have never posted anything on this site before so i'm a newbie. I am a 36 year old male and have just developed major anxiety over my health. My mum died of bladder cancer almost a year ago (anniversary in about 2 weeks), around that time i developed a deep dread of my own mortatlity, i had a bad cough mostly becasue i was so run down going back and forth to the hospital etc. and managed to convince myself that i had lung cancer, after a week or so i went to doctors and she gave me some anti biotics and sure enough the coughcleard up, panic over. Over the next few months my fears shifted to my 4 year old sons health even though he is a happy healthy little boy but i would stand over his bed for hours just cuddling him and making sure he was ok, i would even wake in the night and feel a sudden urge to do this, evetnually this panic went away and now only comes over me occasionly. Now my panic regarding my own health has risen again but this time it is back with a vengence. I am so depressed i cannot function on daily tasks like work or being out with my family, i have convinced myself that i have various diseases (all cancer related) such as bladder like my mum, prostate like my dad (he survived), testicular but most of this past week has been spent worrying about pancreatic cancer, i seem to have imagined i have every symptom of this, the only time this doesnt effect me is when i train (i do taekwondo). my mind is so focused when i am there that i dont even feel a twinge but as soon as i leave and sitting at home thinking they come back. My wife has tried to reassue me that if i really was that sick i wouldnt be physically able to train as much as i do. I generally eat healthy and tbh the only vice i generally allow myself is a wee dram of whiskey every night, i used to have a major sweet tooth but this has subsided recently, mostly due to my health fears, i have swapped my carb rich die