Heavy Drinking Everyday

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi Guys,

Just found this forum and hope I can get some advice how to lower my Alcohol intake.

I drink about 15-20 units a day now – I’ve been drinking like this for about 3 years. I know that’s really high! I wake up every morning and say to myself I’ll stop but always fail. I’m so ashamed of myself right now and it’s damaging my relationship of 17 years too. I work from home, so it is all too easy for me to drink throughout the day.

Any advice how I should go about stopping? Had a blood test last year and my Liver function was slightly abnormal but nothing to much they were concerned about.  I really really want to stop this now.

Thanks in advance!

Kind Regards,

Ken

0 likes, 56 replies

56 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Drinking is easy when you are at home!! I was unemployed, my wife was working and BORED...let us have another drink..and another one and another one...then hiding them and scared of not finding them next day...worse and wrose...long story short had to stop completely 4 1/2 yrs ago and did it....seek advice here by others as well...I suggest the Sinclair Method since many here have been VERY happy with it...best of luck and WELCOME to this BRILLIANT forum...Robin
    • Posted

Thanks Robin. I've just turned 37 and to be honest i would go 6 months plus without a drink before this cycle started. It's just become a really really bad habit.

Thanks again for the reply smile

• Posted

What's the longest you've gone without a drink lately? I'm just wondering if you are showing signs of physical dependency. I'm 38 and was consuming around 20 shots a day. With the help of this forum and TSM I have cut down to an average of about 3 a day with days of abstinence. Believe me it can be done

• Posted

Thanks for the reply smile Well over a year ago sad I'm deffo dependant sad I really hope I can smash it. I really have had enough! I suppose this is a good step admitting I've got an issue.

• Posted