Heavy Drinking Everyday

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi Guys,

Just found this forum and hope I can get some advice how to lower my Alcohol intake.

I drink about 15-20 units a day now – I’ve been drinking like this for about 3 years. I know that’s really high! I wake up every morning and say to myself I’ll stop but always fail. I’m so ashamed of myself right now and it’s damaging my relationship of 17 years too. I work from home, so it is all too easy for me to drink throughout the day.

Any advice how I should go about stopping? Had a blood test last year and my Liver function was slightly abnormal but nothing to much they were concerned about.  I really really want to stop this now.

Thanks in advance!

Kind Regards,

Ken

0 likes, 56 replies

56 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi and welcome.  Same old same old - which is me - know how you are feeling - feels fine during the evening - come morning - you hate yourself.  I was drinking 2 bottles of wine a night for the last 6 months and then came on here.  I am down to 2 small glasses Monday to Friday - Saturday/Sunday I have a bottle each night - I need that to sleep.  Not happy with sleepy pills!!  I have been doing this for a few months now.  No cold turkey - just gently dropped down.  I can honestly say I have had no side effects doing it this way.  Maybe a feeling of tiredness in the first few days - but no shakes or hallucinations - just felt much more alert and 'back in the room.'  I know for some this does not work - but it has for me.

You have  joined the right group.  Stay with us.......................G.

• Posted

Thanks for the reply! It really is appreciated! I'm really going to try next week! New start and all that! I may need some help lol X

• Posted