Hello, I am new to group. I am 6 weeks post OP on TKR and have been having problems with sleeping,

Posted , 11 users are following.

I have read other posts and am relieved to hear that I am not alone. It was starting to wear on me and I was beginning to feel depressed. I am taking two pain pills before bed (9pm) and that helps a little, but eventually, the pain and stiffness becomes unbearable and by 5am, I have to get up and walk around. I take my next pain pill at 6 or 7am and again at 2 or 3pm. I do my PT, ice and rest in between and am able to do some routine house chores and cooking. I can walk 1/2 mile and can go to store. Still not driving due to pain meds. I feel I am doing good, but am surprised that I still need the pain meds.

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

You are doing great! This surgery is major, and for most of us the pain is bigger and longer lasting than we had imagined. I didn't sleep more than 2 hours in a row for almost 3 months! Everyone seems to have some challenges with a tkr, Keep up the good work and don't forget the icing. Check out Chico's suggestions on this forum.

• Posted

Hi I’m a Kathleen as well my op was June 21st like you I suffer with lack of sleep due to pain if I get 2 hrs that’s as much as I get I take  regular pain medication as this is needed to be able to work through the pain and do my exercises   I have started to drive which is great because it gives you confidence  pain can last up to a few months or up to 12 months work on your exercises to strengthen your muscles as this is good for the lady also read up on Chico as he has given lots of excellent advice that you will find a comfort   Good luck stay strong keep positive 
  • Posted