Help needed! mucus clearance!

Posted , 14 users are following.

Dear all,

My name is Ian, and I am an Emergency Medicine physician.

I am currently looking at trying to improve mucus clearance for people with bronchiectasis.

My team and I would need some help surveying people suffering from bronchiectasis and find out reasons they do or do not perform mucus clearance, and if they use any devices to do so.

Would truly appreciate a few minutes of your time, either from phone/skype, or just an email survey!  Please do respond, as your help would be truly beneficial for us, and for patients with bronchiectasis!

Cheers

Ian

1 like, 41 replies

41 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Ian

In UK I have had 8 lots of antibiotics in past 8 months and find mucous clearance very difficult. Like coughing treacle. Diagnosed by lung scan in Sep this year.

I can cough for hours per day and cause real damage to my throat to cough up the smallest bit if mucous about half size of small finger nail

Do  postural drainage every morning

Take honey, lemon, ginger and turmeric in paste form twice a day which helps

On holiday in Vietnam at the moment  and hardly coughed at all. It is 30c temperature and 86% humidity so perfect condition for me

Hope this helps

Alison

• Posted

Dear Alison,

many thanks for your reply!!  Yes, this is of great help!

May I ask - 

1) Has your physician explained the importance of mucus clearance?

2) are you convinced of the importance? if not, why not?

3) Do you use any devices for clearing mucus?

4) does postural drainage make you cough more? How long a day do you spend performing postural drainage?

5) Have you been recommended or have you tried any mucus clearance devices?

6) What is the greatest problem/bugbear you face with mucus clearance?

Truly, thank you for all your help!

Cheers!

Ian

PS we are in similar time zones! i'm in Singapore!

• Posted

Happy to respond by any of the means you suggest. I'll message you my contact details.