Help needed! mucus clearance!

Posted , 14 users are following.

Dear all,

My name is Ian, and I am an Emergency Medicine physician.

I am currently looking at trying to improve mucus clearance for people with bronchiectasis.

My team and I would need some help surveying people suffering from bronchiectasis and find out reasons they do or do not perform mucus clearance, and if they use any devices to do so.

Would truly appreciate a few minutes of your time, either from phone/skype, or just an email survey!  Please do respond, as your help would be truly beneficial for us, and for patients with bronchiectasis!

Cheers

Ian

1 like, 41 replies

41 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

I am more than happy to help, it is of mutual benefit.

72 yrs young guy with recent (ish) BX diagnosed, however 40yrs++ medical guesstimate of asthma..I think minor but uncertain degree of BX & COPD...sticky gunk a problem even with v recent postural drainage. ...Fire service at era of 'be a man and be a smoke eater' culture probably hasn't helped.

Please message me and we can talk via skype or similar.

• Posted

I hope that you do it & stick with it. Can't help wondering how much better I'd be now if I'd stayed steady with twice daily albuterol nebs.

That was 9 years ago. Now I need duoneb/ipatropium+albuterol 4 times daily plus budesonide neb twice daily AND the vest twice daily, only my vest sessions take a minimum of 25 minutes, about the same as each separate men med. It's a lot of time, takes a lot longer if I'm producing tons of mucus. I am allowed to "cheat" on one or 2 of the duoneb treatments by using my combivent inhaler if I'm not at home.

I hope you avoid my situation.

• Posted

Hi aitarg, 

Do you swallow the mucus down when it gets to your throat or is it too much to swallow? Do you cough it out?

I have heard reports that the vest is loud, and prevents you from being able to do anything else while attached.  Do you find a similar experience?

Cheers

Ian

• Posted