Hip Replacement too young?

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi I have severe arthritis in my hips one showed severe and the other moderate knees are really hurting as well. Anyway I went to the hospital today and was told that unless it's impacting my life really badly or extremely painful then I should put off for a long as possible. I'm 45 Doctor also said Glucosamine, Chrondirin don't really make any difference. Has anyone else been told to delay for as long as possible.

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Next
  • Posted

and I can't take anti imflammatory meds because I have asthma
  • Posted

Hi

Yes a lot of people are told they are not old enough until about 60.  Because it means having another replacement if you are young when you have the first one.

As for glucosamine......I was told it was no good for hips but for knees it was a possiblity.

REMEMBER I'M NOT A DOCTOR  cheesygrin so cant prescribe for you lol   just telling you what I was told.

The only thing is you have to bear with them.....at least 3 months {I think} before there is a chance that they will have any effect.

Good luck

Love

Eileen  UK

• Posted

Thanks for your reply Eileen, omg lol another 15 years of pain very limited movement. Do the hips last around 10 years if so when your 70 I take it you'll be too old and have to make do with the damaged replacement is that about right?
    • Posted

Hi

I think they are supposed to last a lot longer than that

Hopefully someone will come on and say how long   lol

• Posted