Hoarding/Money advice needed

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi, I'm new to this but need some advice. 

I have been seeing a guy for about 3 months who seems genuinely sweet and lovely. However, I've become aware that he appears to have all the signs of some sort of disorder which I can't quite put my finger on. 

His place (I've only been inside once) has all the typical signs of a hoarder. Several boats in the yard all in need of some sort of work, an unused car, and I could harldy walk through the place as it was stacked; there was no-where to even sit. 

He comes to my place every weekend but I have to pick him up as apparently his car heats up (roughly 70km each way plus tolls), on the few occasions we've eaten out I've had to pay for the meal. If we go for coffee I pay for it. He buys a few groceries such as bulk potatoes/capsicums etc..something that one would buy at a cheap price from a vegetable store. Not once since being with him has he ever purchased anything, not even a coffee. 

I'm torn as he honestly seems like a lovely guy, but I'm scared of getting deeper in this relationship and suffer the consequences after. 

Can anyone offer any advice please as to what steps I should be taking? I do not want to end the relationship without at least trying to get him some sort of help. 

Thank you in advance. 

0 likes, 33 replies

33 Replies

Next
  • Posted

It looks like you are getting way too many WARNING signs. If you are thinking that you can change him, forget it...you can't.  No one changes until and unless they decide to. Please don't make the mistake of trying to be his savior. He may seem lika a lovely guy, but sounds lika a hoarder and a user.

Unfortunately, most people don't listed to advice like this...they go on until the awakening is nasty or even dangerous. My sister did this, and is sorry to this day. Let go Honey, he's not yours to fix.

• Posted