How long can it take for the pain to return after stopping Methotrexate?

Posted , 13 users are following.

Last week my consultant stopped the Methotrexate I was taking. I was on 25mg a week every Thursday. I have not taken any for about 11 days now. I am in more pain than usual today and I would like to know if the drug comes out of your system that fast or am I just having a bad pain day? 

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I found your question interesting. I don't know the answer but when I've had to come off MTX (for the same reason) I have managed a fortnight before my RA pain kicks in and a month before I feel that I'm back to square one. For all its side effects I've found Methotrexate to be a wonder drug - giving me my life back. Good luck with everything.

• Posted

Hi everyone,I'm new to this page and was very interested in this discussion I have been on Methotrexate for four years and was recently taken off a month ago due to my liver function tests not being so good! I am in terrible pain and am really concerned that I'll go back to where I was and a quite nervous,any advice greatly appreciated smile I can relate to what you are saying SharonAnnH

• Posted

i am leslie and new to this and i use to take 8 tabs a week i stopped taking a couple weeks ago and i am in agony but will not back on them because i thought they was not working and yes they do come out of your body quiet quickly
  • Posted

I am not certain when this was originally posted Leslie but I had to stop taking the MTX altogether because of the pains it was causing in my joints. It also caused a totally addled brain!

I forget when I actually stopped it but I have been taking Mycophenolate Mofetil since about April of 2015.  It is a much pleasanter drug to take but of course, it too has its own side effects.  I have had to drop the dose because of side effects but am still taking it at the moment.

I have an auto immune skin disease called Mucous Membrane Pemphigoid.