How long was you off work following knee replacement surgery?

Posted , 22 users are following.

Hi, I am due to have my right knee replaced in 2 weeks time. I have heard different stories from different people about the time I will be off work after my op?, ranging from 6 weeks to 6 months!!!

obviously I know it's an individual thing, but generally can you give me your experiences?

i am a staff nurse on a busy ward and most days I don't even get a break!! Any nurses had it done???

0 likes, 34 replies

34 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Seven weeks for me. I teach and would try to do as much sitting as I could. Half an hour of standing at a time would be enough. I would ice it half way through the day as well. It's actually not about just the knee by that stage. The joint is actually solid, it's the whole leg and the swelling around the knee. The whole leg would get very tired. From ankle to half way up the thigh. I don't think I could have worked on a busy ward at seven weeks.
    • Posted

Thank you Gloria, I don't think I will be back at work after 7 weeks either!! Thank you for your advice though will bear it in mind! xx
  • Posted

I am a midwife and had TKR last December. Because of the nature of my job,I had almost 6months off sick and am still on phased return.
    • Posted

Wow that's huge Nicky. May I ask what symptoms u still have at 6 months? I function quite well at 3 months but it is uncomfortable with tightness and stiffness. No marathon running etc of course. I still lightly medicate and find nights a bother if I can't take something stronger.
  • Posted

I am due to have my knee replaced in approx 7 weeks and I have been told I need to have 3 months off work and I am in a job where I am sitting down most of the time. Good luck x
  • Posted

My ROM isn't great,the joint clunks as it moves and  I still have ?ligament pain(burning and pinching),although USS and X-ray  show nothing abnormal :0(
    • Posted