How long was you off work following knee replacement surgery?

Posted , 22 users are following.

Hi, I am due to have my right knee replaced in 2 weeks time. I have heard different stories from different people about the time I will be off work after my op?, ranging from 6 weeks to 6 months!!!

obviously I know it's an individual thing, but generally can you give me your experiences?

i am a staff nurse on a busy ward and most days I don't even get a break!! Any nurses had it done???

0 likes, 34 replies

34 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi, I had my surgery 2 weeks ago. I went back to work (I'm an office manager) on the 10th day. I worked only for a few hours a day. I did my first full day back on the 14th day after surgery. I still have a lot of swelling and pain, but it feels better to move around. I started PT on day 13th after surgery.

Good luck to anybody that has this, I had a ton of pain the first week after, the nerve block they gave me didn't work on me, so I struggled a lot in the beggining, but that probably help me deal with the pain after I got out of the hospital. I'm glad I did it, but I wasent so glad the first week. It gets better with time.

• Posted

I had a PKR of my left knee on July 20, and went back to work on August 22. I am an administrative assistant. I was told all I needed to do was get up and walk around every 45-60 minutes to keep knee from stiffening. Unfortunately, after my 9-10 hour work day, my leg was swollen from my knee to my toes.  Two of the days I went from work to physical therapy. I ended up taking 2 weeks of vacation to give my knee more time to heal. I also underestimated how tired I ended up being by noon each day. It definitely takes your entire body time to heal.  Take the time your doctor gives you before going back.  My doctor gave me 8 weeks.