How often should I do the half-somersault manoeuvre?

Posted , 12 users are following.

Someone posted about this manoeuvre on here a week or so ago, but I can't find the post now. I think whoever it was also mentioned how often you should do it, and how long you need to continue. I'd be very grateful if you'd post again.

As I'm suffering from BPPV - not for the first time - and was made thoroughly ill by the Epley manoeuvre when it was performed on me nearly 30 years ago, I thought I'd try the half-somersault manoeuvre while waiting for my physio appointment next week. I admit it took me a long time to psych myself up to try it, as I'm in my 70s, live alone and didn't want to make the vertigo worse again.

Anyway, I studied the recommended video and did the manoeuvre five times at 15-minute intervals, as suggested.

At the end of that time, I was suffering mild instability and "sea-sickness" but nothing approaching my post-Epley state. I've just done the Dix-Hallpike test now, and have found - somewhat to my surprise - that although it provoked an attack of spinning, it was slower and briefer than it's been to date. I therefore suspect I might be onto something.

The inventor of the manoeuvre suggests in the video that the vertigo should disappear instantly, but that certainly hasn't happened in my case. Other sites hint that it should be repeated over a longer period, but don't give any clear instructions.

Please could that helpful poster tell me how often I should do it, and how long I should keep it up in the hope of a full recovery? And thanks a million for your original post!

1 like, 33 replies

33 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Just google Half Somersault video.  It should come right up.  I can't share it here.

• Posted

I'm sorry, I meant to type 'I know you CAN'T post it here' so I thought you could privately message me.  But, I typed in half somersault and 'half somersault maneuver-official site' came up, so that must be it?  Thank you.

• Posted