How soon were over 65 ies with cemented posterior walking independently.

Posted , 11 users are following.

I'm 4 weeks post op. Told to stay on 2 crutches for 5 weeks then on to one before seeing consultant at the end of week 6.

I can only take a few steps without crutches and can only walk a half mile with 2 crutches when weather let's me out.

. I've just read someone at 18 days walking 3 to 4 k. Should I be doing more. Doing exercise in book 3 times daily. A family member thinks fear is keeping me back but I still have pain in weight bearing fully.

2 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I'm no expert but I thiink they are doing too much walking that distance!  There is NO way the muscles and tissues can have healed sufficiently!  Sounds like some personal test to me,,  Everyone on here has told me to go at my own pace - but keep going AND rest!
  • Posted

I had a first hip replaced two years ago and will admit to walking too much. I had my second one last Friday and am listening to my body more, resting more and walking around the house , upstairs to pee. Looking forward to getting back on the static bike at the end of the week as per physion instructions..
    • Posted

Thank Susan. It's all individual I suppose.Good luck with your second recovery.
  • Posted

Hi Attractac

Yes I have seen a few miracle stories on here but once you start to dig a bit you find that these people had anterior replacements or the lastest micro version of a replacement. I asked my surgeon before the op and he has done numerous anterior replacements but never felt confident that he got the prothesis straight as he can't see as well compared to a classic posterior op. The down side for the traditional method is more damage and a slower recovery.

• Posted

Ah well Andy . hopefully the upside is a full recovery and a long lasting hip.
  • Posted