HRT scares me.........should I be?

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi All, Im a newbie and so glad I have found this forum.

I am at my wits end and so confused. I have been menopausal for 12 mths or maybe longer so the doc thinks. I turned 50 last August and thought I could deal with all the symptoms but its driving me crazy now!! Hot flushes, nights sweats, mood swings, anxiety......but the worse for me is the lack of sleep! This is awful! Its making me like a zombie and my eyes are black!! Such a vicious circle. Today I have had a long talk with my husband and we have talked about HRT! It makes me so scared about taking it but I am feeling so awful that Im now considering it. Any ideas of a good low dose HRT that I can talk over with the doc. How has it been for you taking HRT?

Thanks x

0 likes, 62 replies

62 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

I'm seeing the doctor next week for some I've been on it before I've now had a hysterectomy so need a different sort nothing to worry about you can have tablets or patches
  • Posted

So do all these various types of HRT come on the NHS. Do I pay per prescription like usually happens or is this done differently? I am liking the idea of the gel and patches, also must read up more on the Bio Identical, sounds interesting!

Thank you all again!

• Posted

Yes, HRT is available on the NHS.  My patches used to be prescribed as a 3 monthly supply - recently they have cut it back to 2 months, which I think is simply cost-cutting.  I think this depends on your GP practice's policy.  I just pay the normal prescription cost each time I get my repeat prescription and see my GP once a year for a check up and medication review.