Hyper due to a hot nodule

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi everyone, I was just diagnosed with hyperthyroid after plenty of scans,bloodwork ,etc, Had my needle biopsy come clean as far as no cancer found, I have all the classic hyper symptoms,....tired yet wired!!  Anyway,my first thought after getting my biopsy results was ' great,,,I can go on meds and feel better soon'.   Wrong.   My referred Endoc. Either wants me to do RAI or surgery to remove 1/2 my thyroid.   He claims that if the dose of RAI is small enough to where it will target the hot nodule which is spitting out excess hormones causing me to be hyper,.....and that my chances of becoming hypo after RAI in this case are very small,    Everything I've read about RAI says otherwise,   Why can't I be treated with meds?   Just looking for opinions in hopes someone is familiar with hot nodule treatments,  I'm new to all this, and learning as I go,  I'd love any input from you all,  How many have sought 2nd opinions?ty for any help 

0 likes, 51 replies

51 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

I agree with Nonita that you should have tests for all types of antibodies, both for Graves (TSI and TBII or TRAb) and Hashimoto's (TGAb and anti-TPO) to be thorough.  I have read that when a person has both Graves and nodules that treatment for Graves with meds can decrease the size of the nodules.  I also agree with most of what Shelly advised also.  I would not do the surgery unless I had the answers above and tried a course of meds.  For myself, I have Graves and my disease improved tremendously on a low dose of Methimazole (Carbimazole in England) plus supplements, regular L-Carnitine, and especially Acetyl-L-Carnitine and Vitamin D3 and Magnesium. 
    • Posted