Hypertension challenges?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi, 

I'm a Product Design student at the University of Dundee, Scotland.

I'm currently working on my final year project. My aims are to develop a product which helps patients better manage their hypertension.

To make sure I tackle the most significant issues facing hypertension management I'd love to gain insight from those dealing with the condition day-to-day.

So my question is:

What do you think are the toughest challenges facing patients in terms of managing their condition?

Thank you all for your time.

(Please feel free to get in contact if you have any questions!)

Thank you for you help.

Regards

1 like, 76 replies

76 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Well I find accepting the fact that you have high blood pressure the hardset challenge and the fact that you have to take pills for life.

• Posted

Hi Helen,

Do you find that there's enough support available for yourself and other patients? and if so what kind of support is there? eg. support groups, discussion forums like this one, relatives, etc.

• Posted

I've had labile hypertension for fourteen years that has never been controlled so can speak with some experience of treatment both in Scotland and England. 

It's not support that we need but experts in the treatment field as most patients are unhappy with the drugs they are prescribed and many stop taking them. This group is not typical as we are here seeking and trying to spread information. My GP says that overall 40% of drugs prescribed are not taken.

GP's are not experts and although Hypertension is widespread among their patients they can only devote a small part of their time to it. Very few patients ever get investigated to find if there is an underlying cause.