Hypertension challenges?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi, 

I'm a Product Design student at the University of Dundee, Scotland.

I'm currently working on my final year project. My aims are to develop a product which helps patients better manage their hypertension.

To make sure I tackle the most significant issues facing hypertension management I'd love to gain insight from those dealing with the condition day-to-day.

So my question is:

What do you think are the toughest challenges facing patients in terms of managing their condition?

Thank you all for your time.

(Please feel free to get in contact if you have any questions!)

Thank you for you help.

Regards

1 like, 76 replies

76 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

The hardest thing is not taking the medication, but the horrible side effects which can totally wreck your life. Still pretty nasty to be told you have to go on medication for life, but also to have to try the remedies for at leat three weeks before the full range of side effects show themselves. Then another two weeks wait to see the doctor if you are lucky!

Very few patients find the right medication first time as a glance through this site will show you.

• Posted

I thought that I had been on every family of hypertension drugs but the consultant at the hypertension centre said that there are still more to try.

A few years ago I answered an advert for volunteers to test a new drug. I lost interest when they said I needed to stop all meds for three months before going on it. 

• Posted

I think you've chosen a tricky subject.  I was functioning totally normally with hypertension when I didn't know I had it.  Problems now relate to side effects of medication and the lack of individuality in treatment.  You are hypertensive. Take tablets 1 and 2 - is the standard medical response.  Two weeks later.  Aha. You are still hypertensiveLet's double doses 1 and 2 and see how you get on.