Hypochondria

Posted , 20 users are following.

Does anyone else suffer from hypochondria? It's really starting to affect me and my anxiety. I keep thinking something is wrong with me. Anything that seems off I will freak out about. I need reassurance or someone to tell me their experience with it. Please guys, help me out

1 like, 31 replies

31 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

hi every body

reading your comments make me feel that I'm not alone. but my problem is a little more.. I'm a medical student! and this make everything worst.. I know all the symptoms, all the disease , I see dying patients.. I see complications.. and always I see my self instead of them!, and with smallest symptoms I think the worst..

recently I thought that I have MS, I had brain MRI and it was normal.. but this not reassure me! and I think of worst diseases..

I'm so disappointed.. please help me

• Posted

This is such a common 'ailment' for medical students there must be classes within the school that address it.  There have been plenty of studies.  One thing to consider is whether or not you want to become a physician. 

As all the comments indicate - something is, in fact, "wrong."  I'll make a request that may hold true for many here:  if there is no evidence of disease, then have the guts to give the diagnosis of hypochondria, health anxiety, or whatever the popular term is.  Then, at least, the patient has knows the physician's point of view, and can decide to stay with him or her, or find another physician.

I have asked, outright, several times, if my physician has washed his hands of me, and I am always told that is not the case.  Clearly, it's the case, but "the plan" is that I can now no longer get appointments.  What a cowardly way to approach this.