HYPOTHYROIDISM...NATURAL Help please!

Posted , 14 users are following.

I have Hypothyroidism.

Over the last year and a half it has gotten alot worse

I have gained 15 pounds

I am cold ALL the Time

I'm tired and grouchy.

I've cut out most Gluten ( I still struggle with going 100 % Gluten free)

My hair will not stop falling out...it is now VERY noticiably thin and dry

What can I do to regrow hair?

What can I eat or what Vitamins can I take to lose weight and regulate my Thyroid

and re gorw my hair

I will not use medication or synthetic thyroid

I have watched my Mother use it over the years and it only causes problems

Any advice and tips

Thanks smile

1 like, 62 replies

62 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Dear Tina:

Sorry you have hypothyroid disease.  i am a Nurse and also have Hashimoto's.  It is an autoimmune disease.  I would recommend NDT also called Armour Thyroid. It is made from a pig's gland and not a synthetic.  It will bring your TSH level into normal.   You can also look into chinese meds for the thyroid.  You may need to find a true and good Chinese herbal shop.

As others have said you do need to have blood work done.  I strongly recommend NDT (Armour Thyroid) it can be bought online.

Hair:  Once on NDT,  Keep you scalp healthy by a good moisture shampoo or one made for dandruff.  It helps to provide the scalp with moisture.

As to weight, avoid carbs and try to walk.  I did walking and I was able to lose 30 pounds.  Avoid eating after 8 p.m.  Move a heavy meal to lunch and eat light for dinner.

Vitamins: please take a good multi-vitamin so you do not get low in Vit D and iron.

I hope this helps.  Stay well, Shelly

• Posted

hi shelly im on vit d can you advise me on what else to take please

• Posted

Hello Karen: