I have a large lipoma on my lower back. I've had a MRI, ...

Posted , 27 users are following.

I have a large lipoma on my lower back. I've had a MRI, the doc looked at it and said nothing to worry about. I'm a nurse, I'm on my feet and at the end of my shift my lower back is pounding, my hips are hurting and my lower back will spasm. So in the meantime i take Naproxen, flexeril. These no longer help. Maybe another MRI is needed? Why does it seem to get bigger one day and feel the same other days?

[i:b6919e350f]This message was automatically imported from the original Patient Experience[/i:b6919e350f]

0 likes, 31 replies

31 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

I had eleven small lipomas removed from the right side of my lower back a year and a half ago. They were painful, everytime I moved it felt like I had barbed wire in my back. Some of the lipomas were hard nodules that I could feel not too far below the skin. Pathology tests came back as angiolipomas meaning they had their own blood vessels.  I had this pain for 20 years and it gradually got worse.  I finally found a surgeon willing to remove them.  Surgeon said as soon as he made incision and pulled on the muscle, these lipomas kept coming up through the incision "blossoming like a flower" because there was no room for them.  The constant pain was they were being squeezed.  The surgeon took photos of them before he sent them to the lab.  I had the surgery shortly before I reached age 50.
    • Posted

Hello Sarah, I know it has been over a year since your post but I am hoping you can shed some light on your diagnosis. What was the diagnostic procedure used that the surgeon used to proceed with the surgery? An additional info would be helpful as I feel I may be in the same situation.
    • Posted