I just found this forum. I am a nurse from USA and have have Achalasia for greater than 15 years.

Posted , 9 users are following.

I just found this forum. I am a nurse from USA and have have Achalasia for greater than 15 years.

I am a 55 year old male. Male nurses, I understand, are more prevalent here than in the UK and many other parts of the world. I find that support groups and forums can do a lot of good. I know I felt excited when I found this site. It helps to connect with others who know what we are going through. Achalasia can cause us to do things associated with eating that are embarrassing and appear crude; therefore, it can take ones dignity. The men in my parish go brook trout fishing each year in the autumn. I love camping and fishing, although my fly-fishing form is anything but poety-in-motion. I will not go because I would keep the rest of the campers up with my nightly hacking and coughing. (I'm considering nominating my wife for sainthood for what she has endured. I look forward to getting deeper into the subject and reading other's posts.

4 likes, 43 replies

43 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Well there are many theories as to why people get achalasia. It can be a symptom of another disease called chagas disease. This is a parasite you can pick up in brazil. I have been tested fir this and itcwas negaive (gogle it if youve been to brazil.

It may be caused by a virus but this has not been identified. Doesn't mean it isnt there. It may be genetic. It may be an auto immune disorder though no-one has identified auto antibodies as a singular cause. I have read it can start as a result of eating too quickly and eating or drinking foods that are too hot (guilty!!).

I couldnt begin to guess the cause but i think acid reflux and damage to lower oesophagus nerves may be a cause.