I’m scared I’ll never be pain free again. How to think more positively?

Posted , 5 users are following.

I know my case might not be as severe as some of yours out there, but I’m worried and anxious and sad right now so I’m gonna tell my story.

I’m a 22-year-old female living in the UK. My knee pain (both my knees) started in 2013. I had been doing intense cardio exercises for 4 months or before, all of a sudden, my pain started during my cardio session. The pain was so bad I had to stop. I remember the next day I walked to school and the pain was so bad I could barely walk and I was in tears. I went to my doctor and he said I “stretched “ my MCLs and recommended rest and a gel that was supposed to help with the pain and reduce inflammation. My knees weren’t swollen or anything and I could bend them normally, just that they were very sore. The pain went away in 2-3 weeks.

In 2014 I started working out again (squats and lunges with no weights this time), but after the second session  the pain started again. Went to see an orthopaedist, he took an X-ray , everything was normal and he said I was suffering from Osgood-Schlatter Disease. The pain went away in 2 or 3 weeks again with rest.

Less than a month ago I was really determined to start working out again so I tried to do a few simple leg exercises and I noticed my knees were a tiny bit sore. I decided to see a physio and after a long conversation she said I have Patellofemoral pain syndrome. We did a few shoulder bridges and stuff like that to see what hurts and what doesn’t and the session left me in pain, but only like 3/10 pain. 

When I got home I did a few leg extensions and my knees started hurting even more. The next day I had to go to work (my job is really physical, I work at McDonald’s) and by the end of my shift I was in agony. I had worked here for more than a year and never had knee pain before doing those exercises.