I need help.

Posted , 11 users are following.

I am a teacher who got caught drinking  last night at prom. I stand to lose everything. I don't know what to do. 

0 likes, 71 replies

71 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Sorry leslie. Hope someone can give you practical or legal help.

I guess it depends who caught you and if they will report it. Get advice as soon as possible.

Hope it works out ok for you.

• Posted

Oh heck, Leslie,  I don't know what the legal process might be.  You have to contact your Union Rep.   If you are not in a Union... I don't know.

There are very strict legal issues to address.

Retrospect is a tough teacher.

I know that you will wish that you had not "gone there".

Alonangel 🎇

• Posted

What happened exactly ?? 
    • Posted

I had one cocktail from the bar. My principal freaked, thought I was drunk and insisted on driving me home. I have contacted my union rep. I know I have royally screwed up my life for one drink. I need help to stop drinking and don't know where to start. I'm alone and ashamed 
    • Posted

I'm a little confused. Your first sentence says you had one drink, but at the end, you seem to suggest a drink problem.

For anyone to give you useful advice, you need to be honest with us.

• Posted

Leslie -

Perhaps start by reading Joanna's article here on Patient:

https://patient.info/health/sinclair-method-for-alcohol-use-disorder

There certainly are other ways to approach the problem, but The Sinclair Method has an excellent success rate. It sounds like you may have a bit of fallout to deal with, so give the above article a look and see if you think it might be workable in your situation. If you have questions and would prefer to PM me, feel free.

• Posted

I do have. Drinking problem.  Otherwise I wouldn't have been dumb enough to order a drink at a school function. I'm sorry if I wasn't clear.  I had spent the entire day helping my elderly dad and was craving a drink so bad I couldn't stand it.
    • Posted