I need help.

Posted , 11 users are following.

I am a teacher who got caught drinking  last night at prom. I stand to lose everything. I don't know what to do. 

0 likes, 71 replies

71 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

I have no idea what the consequences of this are, being UK based, this is probably one for one of the American based regulars.
    • Posted

I told Leslie...that in the US...it is illegal to "fire" anyone for a problem...drugs or alcohol if they are willing to seek professional help for that problem.  I am still wondering why there was a BAR at a PROM anyway.

​Statistically for the kids that attend a prom it is a known fact that driving accidents are attributed to drinking on prom night!

• Posted

I would say that you should get an appointment as quickly as possible to see somebody about your drink problem. Then you should assure your employer that you are seeking help for this problem. It may mean an involuntary period of sick time while you do but at least confessing will help them understand that you are aware of the issue and are looking to get it resolved.

I am assuming that, although it was only one drink at the prom, you had drunk more prior to that, hence the Principal thinking you were drunk.

I am a little confused why there is a bar serving alcoholic drinks at a prom if the students are too young to drink and the teachers are not allowed to, either.

• Posted

If this prom is in U.K., as many are now... it may have been held in a hotel.  Many pupils/students will be 18.

Teacher's decisions and discretions are another minefield.

• Posted

In the UK, most schools have proms for the 16 year olds who could leave school if they choose to, or stay on into the sixth form. So alcohol is not normally a part of UK school proms (unless they sneak alcohol in, of course).

But this is in the US, where I think the kids are a little older for their prom, although the minimum age for drinking alcohol in the US is 21. That was why I asked smile