Is fatigue associated with Prednisone reduction in PMR?

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi, glad to find this site today I am 51 yr old female diagnosed with PMR in Feb. My most recent 2.5 mg reduction in Prednisone from 10 mg to 7.5 mg has brought on some shoulder and neck stiffness and pain but also I am feeling so tired after work. Feeling frustrated because I have been trying to increase my activity. Interestingly, on diagnosis my labs were normal it was by sudden onset symptoms that PMR was diagnosed and treated. Is fatigue expected at this point?

0 likes, 33 replies

33 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi shelly, I was diagnosed in March and I'm 54. I'm no expert but fatigue has been a constant problem for me. And from my understanding at 10 mg you should only Reduce by 1 mg or 1/2 mg at a time at this point. I'm currently doing the dead slow method and reducing from 10 to 9 mg, on my first nine day I was very fatigued so considering changing it to 9 1/2. But I'm going to try 9 again tomorrow and see how it goes. I hope this helps

• Posted

Be careful not to reduce to quickly. I was diagnosed last dec. I am 61 years old. I I was put on 20 mg took pain away + easy to reduce until I hit 7 mg then it has been tough to get body to make cortisol again symptoms and fatigue came back. My dr. Had me take 6 days at 7mg and 1 day 6mg. Next week 5 days 6 mg 2 days 5mg adding 1 day new dose each week. At 6mg trying to get to 5mg now but it is working.  This slow reduction really works. I so want to be off the prednisone so I have previously tried to rush it and symptoms came back. Active but stiff in morning. Fatigue is gone.  I do Pilates's one day, walk next day, Pilates etc. I feel the exercise really helps and a really healthy diet. Best of luck. It is tough.

• Posted