Is it depression or menopause

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi there, going to doctors tomorrow but afraid of walking out with antidepressants when I maybe need hrt. I'm 52 and periods are now quite erratic, I don't want to leave the house. Always in pyjamas. Terrible sweating sometimes. Sore knees. Paranoia. My mood is so low and fearful most of the time. Am I in menopause. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

0 likes, 30 replies

30 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Margaret, sorry I addressed my reply to Caroline by mistake.. gettin old :-)
    • Posted

I'm new to this and was not sure if it was for me. Thank you. I have a bit of hope now. I think I will really try hard to explain how I feel. It's just because I have had a bit of depression in the past that I think they will just opt for the antidepressants.
    • Posted

Well at 52 you are at the age where it is normal to be menopausal you know your own body and mind better than anyone else. Go with your instincts and dont accept what you dont feel comfortable with. Ask if you can try HRT.
    • Posted

I will pat. I will ask to try hrt first. This forum has already helped me to go and ask for it.
  • Posted

There is no blood test to see if you are going through the menopause, you can be tested two days running and your results will be completely different. None will be conclusive.

They can test you once you think you've been through the change, but not whilst you think you are going through it.

That's what I've been told by my gynaecologist

• Posted

Thanks, would be prefer not to be tested because if it came back not menopausal I would feel worse and more confused.
    • Posted

If you're in the UK margaret you won't be offered a blood test. That is no longer the protocol.
    • Posted

Yes I am in uk. I understand that it can be a patch or gel or in tablet form. Does it matter and is everyone prescribed the same amount on beginning.
    • Posted