Is my B12 levels low?

Posted , 6 users are following.

i have been feeling awful for the last 4 months, got my results from B12 test today, 296. No action required. I have made an appointment to see doctor next monday as i feel so low. Do you think i am wasting my time seeing doctor about the levels?

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I'm still a complete novice at this so shant try to advise.  I haven't started treatment yet but there is a very active, knowledgeable closed group on FB. Would recommend you join it x
  • Posted

hi sue did they check your folate too rule out PA ,plus see if you can get your vit D checked, 
    • Posted

My vit d is 61, currently waiting results of celiac test, i dont think i have that tbh. Not sure about folate. When i read about b12 the levels vary so not sure if my number is classed as low or not, thanks for the reply
    • Posted

I got a private b12 test and they say the expects look for a level

of 500 - 700 , but most gps go by ranges when they should be going by

symptoms , what are your symptoms , your vit d seems ok mine was 26

• Posted

I feel completely exhausted all the time, dizzy and ringing in my ears along with ear pain, its the tiredness thats getting me down, i cant concentrate at work anymore
    • Posted

Did they check your cortisol level this can cause extreme triedness 
  • Posted

Your level probably isn't considered low enough for treatment, but, if you have symptoms of B12 deficiency you should see your doctor for more advice. Have a look at the Pernicious Anaemia society website for a full symptom list. Best wishes Marion 
    • Posted

Thankyou, i have been so tired, dizzy, ringing in my ears and ear pain
    • Posted