just bad flu or a CFS relapse?

Posted , 8 users are following.

After 7 years of being in remission from CFS/M.E. I went down with flu 5 weeks ago and am making no recovery. Is this a relapse or just bad flu (I normally take longer to get over colds/flu than the average person) ?

I had 7 years of very severe M.E. from 1995-2002 followed by 5 years of steady recovery. 5 years ago I went back to uni to study for a new career and have worked full time for 2 years. This was challenging but possible and I had to be careful not over do it at the weekend or in the evening. Then I started a new job before Christmas and immediately felt overwhelmed by the workload and stress. Telling myself I just needed time to settle in I managed as best I could but in mid February caught this virus which has not shifted. In fact some symptoms are worse particularly the achey legs and arms. Very worried. 

Please help. Thank you.

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Emma,

I am new to this forum and noticed your discussion. I have been in a similar position. Had a nasty cough/flu virus in Mid February and can't shift it as well as having old CFS symptoms flared up. I was also working full time as well as studying and had been feeling increasingly run down since Christmas. It is bothersome that I am still feeling too unwell to return to work for my 5th week. But a bit reassuring to see that I am not alone in taking longer to recover once a virus has really got into me.

• Posted

Hi Alison, are you in the UK? There has been a bad flu around. I am still not able to go back to work for my 6th week. This is most unusual as I have been well for some years. I guess rest and relaxation are the only ways to get over it properly. Work has offered me a job share when I return which is great because I never wanted to work full time again, but there were no part time opportunities when I returned to work after 16 years (!!!). Hope you get well soon too.
  • Posted