Kneeling after TKR

Posted , 10 users are following.

Awaiting TKR and have been told that it's unlikely you can kneel down afterwards.

Can anyone tell me if they have achieved kneeling once recovered (probably months after surgery).

2 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted

I kneel no problem . I use knee pads or something soft. I do yoga and I am an artist who likes painting big, so I often kneel when painting on the floor.

I don't do positions in yoga which involve putting all my weight on one knee and i don't do the kind of kneel where you actually sit on your heels with the weight on them.

It probably depends on what kind of kneel. I was kneeling reasonably comfortably, though it felt a bit odd, from 6 weeks post op.

I cannot see why kneeling on all fours would be damaging as long as you had cushioning under the knee.

But it may vary depending what the surgeon has done, what type of knee you have and many other factors.

I started trying to kneel very early on on my bed , as it was a good way to work on the bend , and I really wanted to kneel in the future. I didn't want my psychological aversion to the very odd sensation to put me off! I think I started around 5 weeks post op, very gently, very gently, on the mattress of my bed and leaning forward a lot. It caused a bit of discomfort, but I didn't do it more than once a day. And very gently.

I would find it very restricting if I could not kneel at all. Still feels a bit odd sometimes. I am almost one year post op, TKR,

• Posted

Thank you!!!!! I will be following your "regime" after my surgery. I struggle to kneel comfortably now and have been unable to sit back on my heels since my arthroscopy and meniscus trim 5 years ago but was really worried that I would lose kneeling completely.