Living with this for two years-depressed

Posted , 6 users are following.

I just found this forum and I am so happy to have found it. I have been living with this for over two years. I feel like I cant take it much longer. I have been using Estrace for almost two months. It initially worked, but now there is a constant burning. Before that I was on Premarin which did nothing. My main symptom is dryness and burning. When I wake up at nite and urinate, I lay there shaking my legs, who can go back to sleep? I have blown discs in my neck, a right shoulder that needs to be replaced and this atrophic vaginitis is the worst. I don't want to live like this!! The only thing that works so far is hydrocodone. It gives me periodic relief. Now my physician doesn't want to prescribe that anymore and is saying try amitriptylene. Is he kidding? Thati s mainly for stress incontinence! I am already on an antidepressant and nerve medication. I have seen a urologist and a gynecologist. I have had extensive blood test and now am scheduled to see another gynecologist. Sitting and trying to sleep are the worst.

God help me!!

1 like, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

I feel for you Susan. This just started for me where I have burning. I actually had a tear in my vagina. I was given hydrocortisone cream, which is working. However, they said the bleeding was coming from my uterus, not the tear. So I am in the process of going through many tests. Regardless of the other problems (polyps), I still have the dryness issue to deal with. I had no clue this would happen after menopause. I wish there was more education so that I wouldn't have been so shocked. This site has helped tremendously.

• Posted