Long term use of corticoids to reduce BPH symptoms? Does anyone have experience

Posted , 9 users are following.

I got a shot of corticoid and seemed to had immediate relief os BPH symptoms.

Has anyone expience with longer term use? 

0 likes, 51 replies

51 Replies

Next
  • Posted

There are very few diseases that justify long-term steroid use, and BPH is not one of them
  • Posted

I'm not a doctor but I don't think steroids are the answer, they will only mask the problem not cure it.

• Posted

Hi jjj,

Was this part of a BPH treatment by a urologist or did you get the corticoid injection for something else? 

Jim

• Posted

I had my first visit with my local urologist yesterday since I had my PAE with Dr. Bagla, sept 28.

I'm 74 and all my symptoms have returned.  Maybe a little milder at the moment but they have been getting worse daily for the last month.

My urologist was very discouraging, of course he wants to do a turp but he said he saw no change in my prostate since my pae.  

I asked him if the month of wonderful relief that I had after my pae could be due to all the meds and injections Dr. Bagla gave me.  

Yesterda my urologist prescribed Flomax and a long acting corticoid shot.  Today I am feeling great.   I'm pretty sure its not the Flomax based on prior experience.  So I started getting curious about corticoids which I know nothing about.

The possible side effects of corticoid seem horrible.

I'm due to see my urologist in a month.

• Posted

jjj, Was the shot in your arm or directly into your prostate? Do you know the name of the corticoid? Did he give you any antibiotics at the same time?

I have read here about temporary improvements after either PAE, Urolift or Rezum (can't remember which) that were do to anti-inflammatories given at the time of the procedure. As soon as the anti-inflammatories wore off the bph symptons returned.

Jim

• Posted

Did you speak with Dr Bagla? Sometimes a second PAE can fix it.
    • Posted