Manual manipulation under anathesia

Posted , 11 users are following.

This group has been so helpful to me.  However, I saw my surgeon on Thursday and he's not satisfied that my surgical leg will not lie flat.  He wants me to put me under and manipulate my leg and start PT all over again.  Evidently there is scar tissue that he wants to try to break up.  I'm just beginning to feel myself again...I'm 3 months out.  I need your suggestions as to whether I can get it back over a period of time with continuing my exercises and water aerobics or whether I should let him manipulate my leg.  Won't breaking up scar tissue just create more scar tissue?  I'm still stiff but able to function almost normally.  I confess I'm scared about the manipulation.  Any help knowledge or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I need to make this decision by next week.

1 like, 18 replies

18 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I came close to having the manipulation under anesthesia also at 3 months.  I worked aggressively both at home and with my PT and managed to avoid having.  The risks described to me is that it is more painful than the original surgery, and there is a chance that our leg could be broken during procedure.  One of my sisters said it took her 5-6 months to straighten her leg.  See if you can go one more month before you make that decision.  You really have to work on your leg at home.  Laying prone (on your stomach) with either a weight on your TKR ankle or use your other foot for pressure at least 5-10 times a day for 2 minutes will really help.  Good luck.
  • Posted

I had total knee replacement in April. I was stuck at 110 degeees for a month, and very stiff. I had a MUA on Aug 7. It was no where near the pain that I had after the surgery. I could walk the next day and now have a 115 degree bend. I'm happy I had it done. 

• Posted

I was told that it is a lot easier to bend the knee than to straighten it.  Glad you had a good result.
  • Posted

Hi Judith.