MUA after TRK

Posted , 7 users are following.

having MUA on MONDAY having anxiety about the pain I will have after My RTKR was very painful and i had a hard time getting it under control the first few weeks i can straighten my leg out but bending only to about 45 degrees

my question is how bad is the pain after mua and how long does it last I am a preschool teacher of 48 children and was supposed to start school this week i am curious how long i will be out after any advice would help

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I'm sorry but what is an MUA?

• Posted

It is Manipulation Under Anesthesia. You are anesthetized and the doctor/surgeon will bend you knee back and forth hoping to break up scar tissue. In my case, they couldn't bend my knee back, so he had to go in with a scope and clean out the scar tissue. I saw the pictures of the scar tissue , and it looks like cotton candy, but trust me, it is hard as a rock.

• Posted

I have had a MUA done and Scope surgery at same time. Pain was bareable and didn't last as long as I thought it would.

• Posted

I had my MUA ABOUT 3 months after my TLKR . I had no pain, only at therapy.. i cant say it did much for me.. my left knee only gets 100 degrees.. still alot of tightness and I'm a year and a half out.

Had my right knee done 6 weeks before the left, have no issues with that one..

I can walk 5 miles with no pain, just grateful for that!!!

Hope all goes well... DEBBIE Coplay, PA

• Posted