My Symfony IOL results, 2018

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi,  

I wanted to post this thread to add to the discussion about Symfony IOLs.

So far I am very happy.

I had my right eye surgery yesterday, for a worsening cataract in my Right Eye which was effecting my vision enough to make me want to proceed. The plan is do also operate on my left eye next week to provide balanced vision since the left eye cataract is not that bad.

I am 53 and have worn glasses since I was about 10.  I am near sighted and now have presbyopia for which I have been using progressive lens for the past 5 years. I have a very mild astigmatism in my right eye, but not enough to require a Toric lens. 

Enough for a starter, since when I tried to start this thread yesterday it was blocked pending approval by the Moderator?   My post on The Full Moon and Effects of Radiation on eye surgery were posted immediately, so I don't understand why that thread is held up.

Mike

1 like, 33 replies

33 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Now on to specifics.

My prior vision had a correction in the Right eye of about -6 diopters and left eye about -5 and had a contact prescription for -5 left and -5.5 right (different from eye glasses).  My latest left eye contact prescription is -4.0.

My right eye implant is a Symfony ZXR00 +13.0D.

The first day my vision was Bright and Blurry as expected.  The process involved 4 rounds of eye drops in pre op hold, followed by a trip to the Laser Room. I was given a valium orally to start off and recall the laser room well. After that I had IV sedation so I recall nothing from the OR suite.