Need help but too scared to talk to GP?

Posted , 11 users are following.

I have fianlly admited to myself that i need to go sort this out. alcohol has been destroying my life for many years i have lost a lot of friends, family members and even jobs because of it. It's been the one thing i can rely on to make me happy but yet its turning me into a horrible person and making things a lot worse. I dont know what to say to my doctor and i feel like theres not going to be any way to resolve this issue. I am not good with talking in groups nor talking about my feelings in person I feel like nothings going to work for me dont know what to do

2 likes, 28 replies

28 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

82Hi Laura,

I know what it feels like to be alone in the world of alcohol.  I've been to my GP a lot over the years, I personally find that the  GP's in my part of the world  have little knowledge surrounding alcohol issues.  AA is suggested a lot, counselling (i went privatley) which did help because I discovered the root to my addiction, even Nalmefene which I have tried (private prescription - expensive) but the side affects for me were horrific.  I take one day at a time, and willpower which is not easy as its a physical condition.  I know I've rambled on about being kind to yourself before, but its true.  The shame of our addiction can have a detrimental overwhelming sense of lonliness, which develops into a cycle because we believe booze will make us feel better, but of course it only tempory.  You are not alone, Be nice to yourself.  Most of us old soaks are really nice, kind, intelligent empathetic people.  Take care my friend.

• Posted

If your addiction to alcohol is severe, you may need to seek treatment at an inpatient facility. These facilities will provide you with 24-hour care as you withdraw from alcohol and recover from your addiction. Once you are well enough to leave, you will need to continue to receive treatment on an outpatient basis.
  • Posted