Nerve pain after total hip replacement.

Posted , 15 users are following.

One year out after having both hips replaced at the same time. I felt this nerve pain right after the surgery in my right leg. Now after a year it seems to be getting worse.I just had my one year check up and the xrays were great.......but this nerve pain is happening when I get up in the morning or sit too long. I am a choreographer and dance instructor so I am VERY active. Anyone else have this? And what might help? When it happens I lay on the floor and do bridges....WHEN I get up it's like the nerve has gone back to where it belongs? Thoughts?

0 likes, 31 replies

31 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hello Molly1charlie2,

I'm sorry to hear about your pain in the morning and when you sit too long.  We have a lot in common I was a choreographer and dancer, my first collage degree was in performing arts. A bachelor fine arts (BFA) in dance. I also had a scholarship for being a gymnast while acquiring that degree. Although I have had four total hip replacements. Unfortunately after the fourth total hip replacement I feel as though I'm back to square one, even though all my x-rays look fine also. I too have some difficulty in the morning when I first start walking and after I sit too long. If I sit for to long when I standup the pain at times is unbearable.  However, it goes away after I've been moving for a little while but as soon as I sit down again it will come back! It makes traveling very difficult. I shall keep following this chat and hopefully somebody will be able to share some information that could be helpful to both of us and others.

Best of luck,

TK

• Posted