New life!

Posted , 7 users are following.

hi I am very new to all this and I hope by admitting I have a problem is a good start! I've always loved a drink labelled the party girl of the group since a young age! When I wasabout 30 I lived alone (with my young son) for the first time and I discovered wine. That really spiralled and I have to say I still don't drink as much now as I did then! That was at least a bottle a day. Now I almost never drink Monday to thursday and I know some would say that's a good start and I'm quite proud. However I am 45 this year and for at least the past year I cannot remember getting home after a night out. I just don't know when to stop, I've worked out I'm consuming 4-6 bottles of a weekend and my Mondays to Thursday are either being down after drinking or waiting til Friday when I can have a drink! I've tried counting drinks and going for the smaller glass option but they both fall to the way side after the first few, I am not sure if I'm ready to give up but after getting married to a lovely man last October (half of the wedding eve I sadly can't remember) I know I need to change. My problems are my mum is an alcoholic and we don't speak my dad is suffering from dimentia and my sister point black hates drinking ! Who do I speak to??? Oh dear, crying as I type, I'm hoping to get some support on here from you lovely people, my husband is wonderful but he is happy with the one glass of wine and just doesn't get it. I am therefore crying for some help ? I have decided to start with a drinking diary, anyone tried this? 

Much love Rachel xx 

4 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I must admit that i am out of the habit of doing the diary but replying to these posts i think i will start again as it really did help

also, when having help from counsellor i was able to refer to my diary and she could identify trends