New Sufferer of Blepharitis

Posted , 12 users are following.

Hi!

I've recently been told by my Doctor I have Blepharitis. It started with really itchy eyes around 5 months ago. The skin around my eyes just got worse and worse and now is really red and swollen on my right eye. I'll try and post a picture if I can. Anyway my Doctor advised to bathe my eyes morning and night and keep moisturising throughout the day.

The only problem I have is that I'm an Ambulance Technician (like a Paramedic but without the degree) so I'm out responding to 999 calls 12 hours a day 3 or 4 times a week meaning I really struggle to keep to a strict cleaning routine. My eyes look terrible and I've had patients comment on it before which isn't ideal!

I'm wondering if anyone has got any tips or tricks that will help with the redness so my eyes don't look as bad as they do? I'm using Aveeno moisturiser and I was using Vaseline on a night but I've stopped that as it was making my eyes even more itchy. I've tried cleaning my eyes with baby shampoo, simple soap, aqeuos (I think that's spelt wrong) and just warm water and nothing seems to help with the redness.

I'm struggling to get back into my doctor's to talk to them about it but she said the last attempt to help would be a mild steroid cream for my eyes.

Any information would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Jack

1 like, 33 replies

33 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Jack Sorry to read this.  I suggest cleaning in betweeen your duties. I also would not apply any chemicals near your eyes as these as you have found out can cause itching etc.

There are some useful leaflets on the websites of famous eye hospitals.

• Posted

Thank you for your reply! Unfortunately I get very little time between shouts and what time I do have is normally spent doing paper work and cleaning the ambulance down.

I'll take on board not using any chemicals near my eyes though and see whether that helps.

Thanks again!

• Posted