New Sufferer of Blepharitis

Posted , 12 users are following.

Hi!

I've recently been told by my Doctor I have Blepharitis. It started with really itchy eyes around 5 months ago. The skin around my eyes just got worse and worse and now is really red and swollen on my right eye. I'll try and post a picture if I can. Anyway my Doctor advised to bathe my eyes morning and night and keep moisturising throughout the day.

The only problem I have is that I'm an Ambulance Technician (like a Paramedic but without the degree) so I'm out responding to 999 calls 12 hours a day 3 or 4 times a week meaning I really struggle to keep to a strict cleaning routine. My eyes look terrible and I've had patients comment on it before which isn't ideal!

I'm wondering if anyone has got any tips or tricks that will help with the redness so my eyes don't look as bad as they do? I'm using Aveeno moisturiser and I was using Vaseline on a night but I've stopped that as it was making my eyes even more itchy. I've tried cleaning my eyes with baby shampoo, simple soap, aqeuos (I think that's spelt wrong) and just warm water and nothing seems to help with the redness.

I'm struggling to get back into my doctor's to talk to them about it but she said the last attempt to help would be a mild steroid cream for my eyes.

Any information would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Jack

1 like, 33 replies

33 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi Jack,

Sorry to hear you have this.  My eyes didn't respond to anything except cortizone/steroid drops and cream. My Opthalmologist put me on to Maxitrol. This is usually as far as I'm aware just to get it under control and then to manage it. It is the only thing that got mine under control.  They will be cautious  with this as it can affect the eye pressure, which they will need to check.