New to IBS ?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I have just been informed about this forum by a doctor and decided to share my experiences with IBS.

I'm a 31 year old professional, having a really hectic life style(always had). I used to be quite chubby (around 80 kilos) and 1.75 cm height. And used to eat any sort of food, alcohol + occasionally smoking.

Just over a year ago(2012), I have a severe wisdom teeth problem and before the extraction, I was offered to take several painkillers by my dentist (ibuprofen) since the pain was too much! Right after the removal and treatment (maybe a month), one day I had a horrible diarrhea following with mild cramps and had to rush to the emergency. When I was checked the doctors could not find anything important, and sent me home. The diarrhea and other symptoms disappeared but I started to have rapid bowel movements in the morning so decided to see my GP. My GP run several tests, including full blood profile, Stool, urine, H. Pylori but could not find anything and diagnosed with IBS. The problem was I started to lose weight during this period, even though my symptoms disappeared slowly.

I've changed my diet, as started to eat more vegetables, sea-food, fibers and NO junk-food!

Completely stopped drinking alcohol,cola or any other sugary drinks and stopped smoking for the time being.

Currently my weight is about 66 kilos, and my height is 1.75 cm. I have recently got a full-blood profile check and everything was normal but I was quite worried about my weight. I was told that due to the fact that, I have completely changed my diet (stopping alcohol, junk food and etc..) this might have caused a weight loss but my GP said, it's quite normal according to my BMI. For the time being, (about 18 months, ) I see this weight loss, more than 10 kilos a little bit too much!! (I do exercise more than I used to, walking + jogging 2-3 times a day)