New to Peri. Racing heart and shaking, Stiff back

Posted , 12 users are following.

Hello ladies, i am new to this forum and thank God i found it. About a week ago i woke up in the night with racing heart, shaking, unable to breath. I thought i was dying, I called 911 and the ems came to my home. I went to the hospital and took test all came back normal. The dr said i had a panic attack. I never had one in my life and it scared the living daylights out of me. This morning i got up and felt off. I could barely stand, felt very weak and my heart started to race. Heavy breathing. I drank plenty of water and laid on the couch. It has now stopped. This is all new to me and i do not no what to do. I called in work and i am still in bed scared to get up. Can you ladies please give me some advice. How long does this last ? thank you

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Sally. I don't have much advice, as I am relatively new to peri myself (10 months since my first migraine aura), but I wanted to let you know you aren't alone. I have had many scary nights/mornings with palpitations. I don't have hot flashes, per se, I have more of what I would describe as anxiety flashes. It is such an odd and uncomfortable feeling. It is scary and dreadful. Hopefully, we will all find relief soon. xo

• Posted

hi sally i also have a tv in my bedroom which dosnt even get switched off at night the background noise helps me sleep and if i wake up in the middle of the night i just go channel hopping and find something good to watch and tend to fall back sleep within the hour so i think it will help you settle your mind goodluck xx

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!