New to Zoloft, please give me hope

Posted , 5 users are following.

I recently started Zoloft for depression and I started out with 50 mg and didnt have too bad of side effects. Went back to doctor after 2 weeks and she upped me to 100 mg. It has been 2 weeks now at 100 mg and I still don't see any changes. Do I have to wait the 6 weeks to see if it kicks in?

3 likes, 46 replies

46 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Also wanting to know anyone who is on 100 mg of zoloft and how long did it take to get a theraupetic level to help you feel more like yourself? Sorry for all the questions but this is my first time on any type AD. Thanks for all replies!
    • Posted

I've been on 100mg for 6 months, pretty much levelled out but still have occasional blips of up and down mood.
    • Posted

Hi philip. Did you get any relief earlier than 6 months? That seems like a long time.
  • Posted

It could take up to 2 months. I felt I was my best at 150mgs but that was for Sertraline (Zoloft generic) , and I'm not sure the mg levels are the same. I remember it took about 4 to 5 months for me to reach my best, but you should start feeling some better effects soon. Keep pushing through. If it isn't hurting you, there is no point in stopping now. smile
    • Posted

Thanks Johoben! I am on 100 mg for now and have been at this amount for 3 weeks. I am hoping my next doctor visit which is 2 more weeks that I will be upped to 150 and that is where I would like to remain. As long as I can see some glimmer of hope, I know I can move forward. Did you stay on generic the entire time?
    • Posted

Are you feeling at all better yet? And yes, I stuck with the generic. It's usually cheaper and works similarly to the brand name one.
    • Posted