Operation Finally in Sight

Posted , 20 users are following.

My TKR has finally come on 20th September and I am quite scared.  It isn't having the op. it's afterwards although I do agree that it is up to me how quickly I can get going again.  I am not good with hospital and it is 2 years since the Consultant said it needed doing. I wasn't in a position to have it done then so I went on the list in May.  Just being a bit of a wuss really.  Wish me luck nice people, I'll be back when it's been done.

1 like, 41 replies

41 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Oh Annette

Don't worry you will be fine. I am five weeks post op and getting better everyday. I have actually enjoyed the rest from work. I am returning to work in two weeks time and I am driving again. I listened to all the advice on here and it has boosted my recovery.

Good luck and I am thinking of you

Jackie x

• Posted

Thank you Jackie it's good to hear you are driving again, tht's one of the things I will miss as I am the driver in the house.  There is a lot of good advice on here which I shall follow. xxx

• Posted

Hello Jackie

I'm new to this forum so just getting the hang of reading all the posts.

I'm due to have my operation 21st September.

I've put it off 3 times . I'm 54. I can walk around and do things, but the awful grinding noise coming downstairs.

Am petrified, but reading your story has given me hope

Thankyou

• Posted

Im 8wk tkr and i was petrified b4 i went in but it wasnt as bad as i thought.dont get me wrong the first 4-5 wk was hard but as long as u excercise ,ice and rest im sure u will b ok.just dont rush things either your own body will tell u your limit so listen to it.good luck 1976annette.xx
    • Posted

Thank you Janice, I have got the ice and rest firmly implanted in my head which seems to be the key to this whole thing.  I am not one to let things get me down so hopefully, it will be OK. xx  
  • Posted