Operation Finally in Sight

Posted , 20 users are following.

My TKR has finally come on 20th September and I am quite scared.  It isn't having the op. it's afterwards although I do agree that it is up to me how quickly I can get going again.  I am not good with hospital and it is 2 years since the Consultant said it needed doing. I wasn't in a position to have it done then so I went on the list in May.  Just being a bit of a wuss really.  Wish me luck nice people, I'll be back when it's been done.

1 like, 41 replies

41 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi Annette!

The keys to post op success seem to be good pain management, moving and stretching often throughout the day, getting as much rest as you can, drinking plenty of water to flush out toxins from anesthesia and pain meds, and having a good physical therapist who will work WITH you and understand you. Ice is important, but in my opinion elevating the legs helps even more. Compression stockings that go up the thighs help with swelling.

Staying positive and keeping busy will give you endorphins that help pain management.

Focus on small improvements. Treat yourself to naps as often as you can!

You can DO this! 💟

TKRs June and October 2015

Enjoying my garden and thankful I made the decision to get surgery. Excited to DANCE without severe pain at our son's wedding this Saturday!😁🙌😊😁🙌

• Posted

Hi Cheryl haven't been on here for a while glad you are still doing well hope you have a fantastic day at your sons wedding and enjoy your dancing .i went to the funfair on Monday with my daughter and 3 grandchildren was so nice to be able to walk around without the chronic pain now looking forward to my holiday in Portugal in 2 weeks time take care x

• Posted

Hi Sharon!

So happy to hear that you are doing well, too! 😊 It sure IS great to be out and about, doing normal things and being rid of that awful pain! Glad you had such a good time at the Fun Fair with your daughter and grandchildren!🙌😁😊😁🙌