Orlistat...if you don't go, does it not work?

Posted , 39 users are following.

Hi all

I'm new to Orlisat. My first day. But I have a question I forgot to ask my GP.

I'm eating a lower fat intake anyway to support the weight loss...but, if I don't get the \"oily stool\" does that mean it's not working?

I had two slices of toast before...each were 0.7g of fat. So there WAS fat in them...but I've not seen any changes in my stool.

I guess what I'm trying to say is, does it take up to a third out of ANY amount of fat?

2 likes, 45 replies

45 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

it can take a day or two for the affects to happen so don't assume if you have an affect it was the day before that caused it as it could be a couple of days ago, depends on your metabolism
  • Posted

i imagine that oily experience was your donut, on the rare occasions i have had oily stools its been 24-48hrs after eating naughty foods, i guess it depends how far over the limit it is as to how urgenty the oil evacuates as some people 'leak' oil when they really overdo it
  • Posted

Hello there,

Hope I can also share my experience with you. I'm dutch, so don't mind my englisch.

I started yesterday April 14th with Xenical (orlistat) and till now it's going well. Not running to the toilet at all. I also started with a low calory diet. Eating three times a day and a small healthy snack at about 10 and 15h. However the evening is a problem. Anyone a suggestion for evening snacking?

• Posted

rice cakes

popcorn

jelly and/or fruit and/or fat free yoghurt

cereal

• Posted

Crudites - tomatoes, raw mushrooms, raw cabbage/cauliflower, radish, pepper, carrots, cucumber.

With or without very low fat cottage cheese 

• Posted

fat free yogurt

jelly

fruit

• Posted

Ooooooo Jelly is a good one. It's delicious!