Pain after endoscopy? Chest pain, discomfort swallowing

Posted , 100 users are following.

I had EGD yesterday with sedation. Felt pretty much fine yesterday, minus a little chest discomfort when breathing in deep. Today I've had no appetite and have discomfort swallowing, and a persistent discomfort in my chest. Waiting for call back from doctor. In meantime, reading about perforation and wondering if this sounds serious. I don't want to go to ER for a bunch more tests if this is normal. Does anyone have any experience with pain like this following endoscopy? Thanks very much.

1 like, 238 replies

238 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Penny, doesn't sound remotely like perforation to me. (I'm a former nurse btw.) Perforation would cause sudden unbearable pain, and you'd collapse in shock.

All kinds of reasons why this could be going on. I'd say you can afford to wait for your doctor to call back unless there's any serious deterioration.

• Posted

Thank you very much for your quick reply. Your response definitely helps ease my mind a bit!!
    • Posted

Hi @lily65668, I'm having very similar issues to @penny44470. Gastroscopy with 6 biopsies taken, 2 days ago due to swallowing issues. As I swallow, i have this tight pressure behind my breastbone where I feel the food, drink going down and sometimes when I burp. I'm so very anxious about it now and worry that they've caused some damage. I've spoken to the Endoscopy unit today and the nurse that it's not normal and shouldn't hurt at all after 2 days and advised to take pain relief or go straight to A&E but that does sound extreme. Is what I'm feeling normal because the hospital didn't think it was at all? But I've read many posts on here that seem to say the same thing as me.

• Posted

Hi Penny